Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Basic definitions .

former_member199126
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi guys,

I am from ABAP , and i am new to HANA. I am trying to educate myself with this new technology.Whle going through i faced some problems in understanding some of the terms and concepts here.

Some of them are "Procedures" and "Table types". In ABAP we have some thing called as internal tables, where we fetch the data from the database table and fill it in the internal table where we use to manipulate the data and upload back in to the Database and commit it.Are they something like internal tables ??

Going more in to my question , please clarify me what is a procedure and a table type(Also please add if there are ank key terms that are a prerequsite to be known before jumping in to app development in HANA) and  what do they do.

I have gone through the SQL script reference guide , but i was not able to find out clear definitions.

:  i want this thread to be more useful to the people who try to educate themselves in HANA and lets start from the basic definitons what HANA has. Experts plese help.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184768
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Karthikeyan,

Welcome to the world of HANA. 🙂

Before I try to explain your doubts, let me touch upon one basic point.

The key difference between processing in ABAP and processing in Procedure is, ABAP processing happens on the data fetched from the database, whereas Procedure (or Database Procedure) processing happens IN the database itself.

Procedure is nothing but processing of data or implementation of business logic / validation / data manipulation performed on the data fetched from the database tables. As mentioned, the processing happens in the database itself and hence is very fast.

In ABAP, you fetch the data, store in the internal tables in the application layer, manipulate the data and then write it back to the database.