cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two way interoperability with nco3.0 in .net4

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to using nco and I must say, I am really impressed with what I have seen so far..

All I have so far achieved is designing a small windows form project that pulls out customer details (from accounts receivable) based on a customer number supplied by the end user.

Im pretty pleased to have got that working so quickly and with so few lines of code (c#).

My mind has now gone on to thinking that maybe I can improve this form by allowing users to update customer master data from this form. i.e. end user retrieves customer record and is able to make a change to that record and save it back to SAP..

Based on this, can anyone answer these questions:

1) Do i need to invoke a BAPI to first display the customer details and then invoke another (on a different button click) to actually update the record.

2) Would something like this work to update a field : bapivalue.customername.setvalue("BAPIFIELD", updatedvalue.tostring());

3) Does the gateway connection still perform the same role access checking that the GUI would. i.e. if the connected user doesnt have a roll that would allow updating, would the process fail?

4) Are there any examples of updating masterdata of employees/customers/vendors through nco3 out there?

Many thanks

Iain

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

The short answer is this :

1. You can get data from sap ( with BAPI ) or even use other input source ( file,local DB or input from UI ).
    when you finish prepare your data you should invoke another bapi which have update capabilities .
  2. Yes,the line you wrote would update data in structure,but you still need to invoke FM for update, you should remember that you don't work directly on system ( asynchronous).
  3. Yes.