Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

split a string field to mutiple line items in IDOC

former_member260907
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi expert,

I have a flat file to IDOC scenario. Inside the flat file, there is a field string which will have 2000 characters. In the receiver IDOC side, there is a text line item field with 1-999999999 occurrence. I need to split the string into multiple lines with 135 characters each line and map it to the text line item field. That is, in source side, one long string field to generate multiple line items for that field only. Does anyone know how to do it?

Thanks,

Charles 

former_member206439
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi I am also having the same issue .

Could you please let me know what we need to add in UDT and SplitByValue functions?

I am new to this functions.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184681
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

I think this split can only be done with a UDF:

int size = 135;
for (int i = 0; i < input.length(); i += size){
   int end = i + size > input.length() ? input.length() : i + size;
   result.addValue(input.substring(i, end));
}

Then use simple mapping: source (2000 chars long) -> UDF -> target (135 chars long). You might also need to put splitByValue(Each Value), depending on your target structure - I believe you'll be able to handle it .

Hope this helps,

Greg

former_member260907
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Greg,

Thanks for the reply! I implemented your UDF. However, system could not recognize the result. What data type do you define it? Also, what I chose for execution type? I see have three options: Single values, All values of Queue and All values of context. I searched on SDN. I don't see I have java type of ResultList option. How I can get it?

Thanks again!

Charles

former_member184681
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

>>> However, system could not recognize the result.