cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clarififications on SUP basics

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to SUP , while going through some documents I came across , Netweaver Mobile, DOE ,ODATA,MBO  as per my knowledge these are different ways to get data from source systems and pass it to mobile via SUP framework ,but I am not able to get clear picture of why do we need all these methods and differences between them.Request you to explain the differences in between them.

Also can we get data from Excel file and present it in Mobile through MBO

Thanks

Santosh

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi varada,

From what i understand...

(From Sybase books) These are ways to model enterprise data so that mobile applications can be developed to access data in your enterprise:

1. Mobile Business Objects using the Sybase Mobile SDK,
  2. Data Objects using SAP Data Orchestration Engine (DOE),
  3. and OData using SAP® NetWeaver Gateway

The main concept is that OData, MBO's and DOE are data services and they allow you to create data models for your applications scenarios, which are:

Ok, About MBO's...

MBO's, basically is a "connection" from ONE data source (JDBC, SAP, SOAP, Web Service) to your device (via Mobile Object). This Mobile Object helps you to create, update, delete (and retrieve) your data on your device.

You can create MBO's with the SUP Graphical Tools, generate a code and build Objects API Apps for a specific OS device.

You can also create a "Workflow" with your MBO's, who works in different OS devices

About OData

With OData the developer does not need to create any model elements (MBOs) in the tooling but rather inherits a service model from the service document published from SAP NetWeaver Gateway. These OData service documents contain all the information the device developer needs to parse and interact with these data streams.

About DOE