Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macro writes into an InfoCube

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi everybody,

There is a statement in the help for SCM 4.1:

<i>"In APO Demand Planning you can only read from InfoCubes..."</i>

But it is possible to write data into an InfoCube using a macro(via a key figure with the semantic 002 that is InfoCube). The Req. ID of the added records looks like APO_RCH41BZTPLXFIBF1DLLIF79M72 but it's not seen on the Requests tabpage (Right Click-> Manage).

So, I am little bit confused... Is it a bug or just a "hidden" trick? I have not found any note regarding that issue?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hai Mikalai,

I am not an expert. This answer could be right but please ensure it before taking it for granted.

You can only read data from a BW infocube. You cannot write data back to the BW infocube. APO has BW embedded in it and there are two kinds, BW and APO related, infocubes and Characteristics and Key Figures as well.

You can read data from a BW infocube and when you write data back, i.e., when you save your forecast or corrections or use macros whatever, the data is written back to an APO infocube. Also you can only write data to only APO key figures not BW key figures. Your Planning Object Structure(with Characteristics) and Planning Area(with key figures) constiute an internally generated APO infocube. Go to admin. workbench(RSA1) and search using your Planning Object Structure technical name. You will see an internally generated infocube. This cube is only write optimized. What ever you saved should be in this infocube.

By the way, where did you get the requestid from?

Hope my explanation helped you. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Message was edited by:

Visu Venkat

Former Member
0 Kudos