cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Initialize Tape error using DB13

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I'm just a beginner in SAP as Basis Administrator. I'm trying to simulate the Online Backup using the BRTOOLS, wherein you manually set the volume_group for tape, the initialize tape and backup is successful. When i used db13 doing the initialize tape, it was tagged as SCRATCH that makes my backup failed.

I want to know, why and how will the initialization of tape using DB13 be a success? Why it was tagged as SCRATCH? I want to make this work so i can schedule online backup to our PROD server.

Thanks and regards,

Gelyne

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I just settled the issue already. I updated the version of the BRTOOLS and it works.

Thanks for all your suppport/reply.

Regards,

Gelyne

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

That is exactly what i want to happen, but unfortunately, the system doesn't behave that way. During the initialization of the tape, the system was not able to take the tape name from the init<sid>.sap file. I was really confused and bothered with this behaviour. Please help.

Thanks and regards,

Gelyne

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

go to init<SID>.sap and check this parameter are set or not

volume_backup = (SIDB01, SIDB02, SIDB03, SIDB04, SIDB05.........)

volume_archive = (SIDA01, SIDA02, SIDA03, SIDA04, SIDA05..........)

if not check with you hardware vendor and ask for tape lebel name

because system is not get tape lebel in init<SID>.sap file that why it is searching

for SCRACH tape label and failing with error

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

While sheduling backup in db13 just left the tape name blank

then system will automatically take the tape name for init<sid>.sap file

which you have initalize with volume_group parameter

cheers

Paresh

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,