Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to understand impact on workflows during upgrade from EBP 3.0 to SRM 5

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts,

Greetings to all and a Happy New Year!!

I am new to the workflow concept, though i have a fair idea of EBP.

We are using EBP 3.0, classic scenario. Very soon, we would be upgrading from EBP 3.0 to SRM 5.0. I have a few questions which i need to knw before I take up the upgrade part:

1) The impact on the worflows like Shopping cart approval, purchase contract approval etc when we upgrade from EBP 3.5 to SRM 5.0...

2) Does EBP have their own release strategies or are the release strategies defined in R/3 and applied to the shopping cart when it is ordered in EBP? As in classic scenario, POs are created in R/3, then how does the appoval process happen?

3) What are the necessary things, if any, that I should make sure of before upgrading?

4) Does all workflows also get upgraded or is there any tool to upgrade the workflow?

I am not clear with the approval concept in EBP. I know there are workflows that get triggered when a shopping cart is ordered but the approval process in this workflow is something which i want to understand. Please forward me a document, if possible, or a link will also do.

Please let me know the necessary details.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Ayush

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ayush,

Most workflows will be the same, but if you have modifications on these workflows' then i'd suggest reverting back to the standards for the upgrade.

Im not quite sure what you mean about the release strategy. What can be done though, is creating Purchase Requisitions in the R/3 and pass them to the SRM system. From here PO's can be created and the approval process will take place in accordance with your workflow rules in tcode: swb_cond.