cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner question: What exactly do I need?..

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everybody,

I am really a SAP newbie, so, I have numerous and pretty complex (to my mind) questions. I hope, some of you, gurus, could help me with them.

First of all, I am J2EE developer. So, I would like to use SAP (Web AS?) advantages with my J2EE applications.

1. Is SAP WebAS only Web container (like Tomcat) or full-compaitable J2EE container (i.e. with EJB support, etc.)?

Also, I am interested in ABAP programming language. Which advantages could it bring to me? I would like to "play" with it, too.

2. What SAP server do I need? Is there any trial download? or developer's limited edition?

Soon, I could start working in a company, where SAP R/3 system is working. Will I be able to run my J2EE application and ABAP programs (if I will write few of them ;-)? Will they be able to run both in one AS?

3. What SAP software can I download (trial? limited edition?) to learning it, and which will be able to be the same (of very likely to) full-functional SAP R/3?

If it will be possible, answer these questions!

Or just tell me where I can get these answers (books/links/etc.).

Thank you very much!

Looking forward your answer!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Download SAP Webapplication server 90days trail version,Netweaver doveloper studio available at www.sdn.sap.com there is a help in NWDS since you being J2EE developer, if you know eclipse plotform or any application servers weblogic/webspeher/Jboss it is easy to develop/deploy/run your projects...

Best of luck

RK

eddy_declercq
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

You can also find extensive info on service.sap.com/nw04

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

former_member185954
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

If you know J2EE well, you should check out this link