cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SapClient.rollbackwork Not Working....

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to the .Net Connector. I have been able to set it up and sucessfully call BAPIs/FMs without problems. The problem I am having is getting the Rollbackwork method to work properly. I am using the Bapi_User_Change FM to update the Birth Name of a user. For testing purposes I want the change rolled back. I cannot get the changes to rollback, it appears that the RollBackMethod does not work. I have looked at the BAPI documentation for this Bapi and it does NOT indicate that it does internal commits. Therefore at least according to the documentation, my changes done by this code should have been undone. Note that in my sample code: I call it twice once with a valid ID and once with an non-existant ID. One works, other other of course does not. The rollback that follows both seems to be ignored.

Can anyone help? What am I missing here? Something obvious?

Dim addr As New BAPIADDR3

Dim addrx As New BAPIADDR3X

Dim retTable As New BAPIRET2Table

'Dim ret0 As New BAPIRET1

Dim ret2 As New BAPIRET2

Dim conn As SAPConnection

Try

conn = proxy.Connection.GetNewConnection(cs)

conn.Open()

proxy.Connection = conn

addrx.City = "X"

addrx.Birth_Name = "X"

addr.City = "Charlotte"

addr.Birth_Name = "XXXXXXXXXXXXX"

proxy.Bapi_User_Change(addr, addrx, "GOODID", retTable)

proxy.Bapi_User_Change(addr, addrx, "BADID", retTable)

Console.Write(retTable.Count)

If proxy.RollbackWork() = True Then

Console.Write("True")

Else

Console.Write("False")

End If

Catch ex As Exception

Console.Write(ex.Message)

End Try

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Mickey,

I agree with Gareth.

Once a syncronous call is executed, the rollback mechanism does not yield any results.

As an alternative, you could look at tRFC [which is async] but will give you the transaction relevant options of commit, rollback, etc ...