cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backups for SAP,SQLSERVER

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus,

I want to know the some information related to backups in SAP and SQLSERVER also.

I have installed solman,ecc,ep on windows 2003 and database is sqlserver 2005.

Till now I am taking full database(offline) backup weekly once through SQLSERVER MANAGEMENT STUDIO.

But I have not scheduled any online backups through DB13 moreover I want to take file system and transaction log backups also.

As I am new to this backups please let me know the following queries.

1)What strategy(backup) should I need to follow in order to take database and log and files also,please give me suggestion.

2)As per my knowledge we have to adjust some parameters related to backup in the file initsid.sap,but in ms sqlserver I am not able to find initsid.sap,please suggest me where can I find this file.

3)In sqlserver where can I find brtools information(please specify path),and also let me know from DB13 how can I schedule backups.

If possible please send me any specific link related to all my above queries.

Your help would be more appreciable

Many thanks in advance

rk.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

ad 1)

Your database needs to be in full recovery mode. ( You will find this in the database properties )

I run full database backup once per week ( to tape of course ) and incremental backup once per day.

Backup log between the database backups, every 2 hours. Backup the log to file. For security reasons place the file in other server in the network or in a dedicated drive in the server.

After the full backup is completed, copy the backup log file to a tape. The first log backup must initialize the file an restart the backup log process.

Please look at this link: http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04s/helpdata/en/d1/21714b7d3a11d288ec0000e8200722/frameset.htm

ad 2,3)