cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI- web services

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I've worked with j2EE web services but i'm new to SAP. So I'm ppretty confused about few things----

1. If we are using web services, that means we are not going to use adapters?

2. Can we integrate to an R/3( or any SAP system) system with web services only without using RFC or idoc adapters?

3.I've read that if we are using was>6.2, there is no need for adapters and they will connect through proxiy only? Does this proxy means web service??

Thanks in advance

Piyush

Thanks in advance?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

deviprasad_pothireddy
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Gakhar,

1. I've heard that in future all the integration will be web services based only. what it means?

>> Most of time we use web services to get a data from any server. It is best way to get information. But we may use other services that are depending up on requirement

2. in the link it is mentioned that-"Proxy generation converts non-language-specific interface descriptions in WSDL into executable interfaces known as Proxies"..

that means proxies are again related to WSDL i.e web services..?

>>I don’t have much idea on Proxy generation. Generally we go proxies if we consider the performance issue. But most of time we use adaptors only.

3 is it mean that r/3 system will expose a web service and XI will call that we service (on the sender side)

>>As moorthy said, Using the RFC/idoc adapters or proxies XI communicates the SAP system and generates the WSDL files. Use any web client and consume the WSDL what XI generated.

And also refer this link(SAP)

/people/ravikumar.allampallam/blog/2005/08/14/choose-the-right-adapter-to-integrate-with-sap-systems

How to use webservices in XI

/people/siva.maranani/blog/2005/09/03/invoke-webservices-using-sapxi

Regards,

Deviprasad.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Prasad,

You have provided a link in the last i.e--