cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to simply GUI mapping?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to XI and found out that GUI mappings create unnecessary complexity. I wonder if there is any way to simply them. Here is my problem:

Let's say I have the following source message:

<source>
  <node> (cardinality: 0..9999)
    <key>...</key>
    <source_value1>...<source_value1> (cardinality: 0..1)
    <source_value2>...<source_value2> (cardinality: 0..1)
  <node>
</source>

My target message looks like this:

<target>
  <target_value1>...</target_value1>
  <target_value2>...</target_value2>
  <target_value3>...</target_value3>
</target>

The mapping requirements are:

1. Map source_value1 to target_value1 when key = 'key1'

2. Map source_value1 to target_value2 when key = 'key2'

3. Map source_value2 to target_value3 when key = 'key3'

4. If source message contains nodes with keys other than key1, key2, key3, ignore them.

Pretty common requirements so far. Now let's start with GUI mapping. Obviously, I cannot use 'if..else' function in the GUI because it will only check the first occurrence of the <b>node</b> elements in the source message. So to meet the requirements, I have to create some custom functions.

At first, I decided to create a <u>context</u> function called findValue:

public void findValue(String[] key, String[] keyValue, String[] value, ResultList result, Container container){
  for (int i = 0; i < key.length; i++) {
    if (key<i>.equalsIgnoreCase(keyValue[0])) {
      if (i < value.length) result.addValue(value<i>);
      else result.addValue("");
      return;
    }
  }
  result.addValue("");
}