cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I determine XML file size before sending to WebService?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi!

I'm new to XI, and I'm facing this problem: I'm developing a solution where I have to send one or more documents to a government webservice, but this webservice has a XML size limitation of 256kB. I could send one document at time, but this can cause an overload at the gorvernment server, so, I must send one XML with lots of documents in it. But the XML data sent to the webservice must not cross the 256kB limit. Also, each document doesn't have a fixed size.

The question is: how can I determine the size of this XML before sending it?

Oh, almost forgot: I'm using XI 3.0.

Hope I made myself clear.

Thanks in advance.

Andre

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Andre what sort of client you use triggers the request thro' XI?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, Sriram,

The data is sent to XI from BW, through RFC, and it is mapped inside XI.

Thanks,

Andre

former_member206604
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

You can try this way a simplest. First measure the size of the XML with 1 record with all maximum entries. Then calculate howmuch you can send it. By this you can send it based on number of records rather than size of the XML. This would be the easier way to do it.

Regards,

Prakash

Former Member
0 Kudos

Andre

As prakash says there is no formal mechanism (to my knowledge,perhaps some one more informed might know) to trap message payload as an event to split messages and process in XI.One way could be evaluate a Upper/lower watermark for processing your webservice by ensuring every field in your RFC is filled to max limit.Then find how many records would limit the XML to 256K and then decide the outflow..But this still remains a crude mechanism

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, Prakash,