Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

some confusion in MDM

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to MDM. I have some confusion with MDM:

1. After "Loading Master data" process data from MDC will be copy (except replicate) to MDS (Staging) or it just some logical links that will be stored in MDS towards MDC.

2. Before "Consolidating Master Data" process do we need to define some database schema over MDS or it is an automated process.

3. Apart from consolidation and harmonization within heterogeneous system landscape is there any other benefit associated with MDM 3.0?

4. Does MDM 3.0 shipment comes with MDC adaptor to connect with SAP (ERP and CRM) system and Non-SAP system (like people soft). To my understanding it does have adaptors for SAP but not for non-SAP system.

5. Help.sap.com say during initial load from trusted clients (ILTC) process ID mapping information can be loaded directly from the MDC and transferred to the CI. But how can we store ID mapping directly in MDC?

6. Do we need to have all these component in order to use MDM:

a. Master Data Engine 3.0

b. Content Integrator 3.0

c. BI (BW 3.5)

d. EP 6.0

e. XI 3.0

f.SAP Solution Manger 3.1

Thanks

Raj

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

KlausDavid
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hello Raj,

answers foryour questions :

1. After "Loading Master data" process data from MDC will be copy (except replicate) to MDS (Staging) or it just some logical links that will be stored in MDS towards MDC.

A: The data will be copied, there are no logical links. After the extraction the data exist on the Client-system and in the staging area.

2. Before "Consolidating Master Data" process do we need to define some database schema over MDS or it is an automated process.

A: We have to consider different cases:

Case 1) Extraction of Standard object types like Business Partner: It's not necessary to define some Database schemas, for the MDM standard object types, they already exist.