cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Again: web dynpro vs. bsp vs. webgui

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I have an existing Z transaction which produced approximately 100 days manpower. Now there should be the possibility to access this transaction over the web with a browser. I have no web development experience with sap, but I found 3 possibilities to do this:

webgui - bsp - web dynpro.

In my opinion webgui is the easiest way to do this. I take the existing transaction and make it accessible over the web with the its. I need nearly no manpower. Is this right?

What is the advantage if I use bsp or web dynpro? Is it because of performance, license costs, scalability, operational availability, layout, guaranteed future?

I also have read in this forum that web dynpros supports meta data and component based programming, supports smart and mobile clients and allows me theoretically to integrate arbitrary backend systems via the same interface.

But do I need all this things really? Maybe it supports me if I have a development project with years of manpower. Is this right?

Because of these things in my opinion the bsp solution should be the second best solution. Because of the posibility to design the layout in html.

Thanks in advance

Manuel

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Manuel

If you have the SAP screen already available , then the best solution would be to go for the ITS solution(Web Gui).

But if you were to compare the man days required to code a dynpro and a web dynpro screen from scratch then they would approximately be the same.

Yes if you want to leverage on Web Dynpro you will have to currently code all screen from scratch , and encapsulate your backend logic as function modules.

Apart from BSP you have the option to use Portal Development Kit (if you have SAP EP in your landscape) . JSPHTMLB(tag libraries)JCO running on WAS 6.2 or 6.4 or other Java server.