cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stock consideration for Surp/Short calculation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to PPDS and trying to understand how some of the numbers are calculated in product view.

I would like to understand how surplus and shortages are calculated. I believe that when you have enough receipts (stock, other receipts) to cover all requirement in that case I should not see any shortage against requirement. but it is not the case. even though I have plenty of stock, when there is SO system displays shortage (equal to SO qty) and qty alert. I tried to research but no leads.

Situation is like this.

avail/req-Davail/reqT-category-receipt/req element-rec/req qty-conf. qty-available---surp/short

02/22/2012-14:18:31-Stock-TEST/SLPF/CC-550,000.00-550,000.00-550,000.00---550,000.00

03/07/2012 00:00:00 SalesOrder 14827566/000010/1 600,000.00- 600,000.00- 50,000.00- 600,000.00-

In this case If I run heuristics than system creates pur.ord for 50000 and available becomes 0 and shortage is reduced to 550000. When I click to see pegging I see 50000 pur.ord is linked to SO but stock is not pegged to SO.

If I change SO qty to less than stock, say, 500000 still it shows 500000 as shortage in surp/short column.

Need help to understand how surp/short is calculated and how can I assign stock to requriement so that there is no shortage and relavant qty alert.

Regards,

Harshil Desai

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

frank_horlacher
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

shortages in the product view are calculated by pegging.

see documentation about pegging.

[Pegging |http://help.sap.com/saphelp_scm70/helpdata/en/a1/5dab405f561314e10000000a1550b0/frameset.htm]

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks frank for response but my question is why stock is not considered in surp/shortage calculation? Any leads to this would be greatly appriciated.

I have checked all settings and config.

Regards,

Harshil Desai

Former Member