Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File to File and then Call ABAP Program and pass file name and location

MG3
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to PI and am working on the following requirement and some guidance would help:

A file is picked up from a third party server using FTP and is put in an SAP server in a specific location. After I have put in the file successfully, I need to call an ABAP program and provide the name and location of the file for further processing by the ABAP program.

Although I am familiar with File to File, how can I add in the ABAP call with the filename and location? I do not want to pass any other information to the ABAP program.

Thanks for your help.

Manoj

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

MichalKrawczyk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

hi bhavanisankar.solasu,

>>>mightbe that is possiable with standad beans "RequestResponseBean " & "ResponseOnewayBean"

he needs to call the program after the file is generated and not before so how can those beans help ?

I don't see a way

Regards,

Michal Krawczyk

MG3
Contributor
0 Kudos

Thanks, Michal, bhavanishankar for your response.

Michal - just wondering why I should create a new file using the OS command after a file transfer. In the receiver file adapter, I would be specifying the target directory anyways, and after a successful transfer, the file would be available in that location. I just need to get that file name and path and call the RFC. Is this possible?

Thanks

Manoj

former_member184681
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Manoj,

The solution described by Michal is a little bit tricky. Let me shed some more light on it. In addition to the "original" interface file created by the receiver file adapter, you create an additional file (by means of the OS command). And for that file, you have to develop a simple (but separate) scenario in PI that will read this file and execute your RFC-enabled function module.