cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing a Structure using Outbound & Inbound Plugs

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to WebDynpro, please excuse my inexperience. I am trying to pass a simple DDIC defined structure, called S_PASSTHIS, from VIEW1 to VIEW2. I am not concerned with binding the passed data to anything yet in the receiving VIEW2. I just want to understand how to pass the data first.

The outbound plug, called OUTPLUG, has S_PASSTHIS defined as the parameter to pass. The inbound plug, called INPLUG, is linked to OUTPLUG for navigation. Before VIEW1 fires OUTPLUG to pass control to VIEW2, I confirmed that all of the fields are populated in S_PASSTHIS in VIEW1.

After firing OUTPLUG, control now transfers to VIEW2 in the method HANDLEIN. I would think that if I looked at S_PASSTHIS in debug (in the HANDLEIN method for VIEW2) that I would see the passed structure. But, the debugger does not even recognize S_PASSTHIS as a defined field. I also looked at the static attributes of ELEMENT_PASSTHIS in VIEW2 HANDLEIN method. But, there are no static attributes to get there either, they are null. Nothing was passed.

I did map S_PASSTHIS as a Node with attributes in the component controller as well. However, I am not even sure if I needed to do this. It may be causing an issue, because I have other contexts mapped in there for processing in VIEW1. As I said, I am not concerned with any binding yet, for output, I just want to understand how to pass the data with the plugs, and how to confirm that the data is getting passed to VIEW2.

I must not be sending S_PASSTHIS correctly with the plugs, or maybe I am missing something in the receiving VIEW2? Else, wouldn't I be able to see S_PASSTHIS in VIEW2 debug? If I need to define it somewhere in VIEW2, I can. But, I do not even see anything being passed that is recognizable to me in any nodes or elements?

Thank-You, Tom Matys

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)