Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Career in SAP - PS at the age of 42. Advice needed.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I need some suggestions as I am considering making career transition to SAP u2013 PS. I live in the US so I will be pursuing my career in this country. Hereu2019s my background info:

I am a PMP certified and ITIL V3 Foundation certified Sr. Project Manager. I am 42 years old and I have over 15 years of IT experience. Also, I started working on my PMI-Agile certification (PMI-ACP). I work as a consultant.

My expertise is in managing from small to large development and functional projects, process improvement, data management, data strategy, liaison between IT staff and business clients, process Improvement, Software Development Life Cycle, Risks and Issues management, Business Analysis, Software Requirements, Technical Solutions, Time Estimating, Work/ Resource Breakdown Structure, Project Scheduling and Budgeting, Strategic Planning and Solutions, MS Project etc.

Prior to project management, I had strong technical background in Data warehouse, data migration, Database architecture, design, development, performance tuning etc. primarily in Oracle and SQL Server, Business objects, UNIX etc. I have around 13 years of Oracle and Unix experience.

After discussion with several training institutions, they said that SAP u2013 PS is the best option to start SAP career. My questions are:

- Is it good idea to make a career transition to SAP at the age of 42 in USA?

- I am at a senior level of my career. Will I be considered an entry level if I start SAP career or will my prior experience be given some credit?