cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bad performance on system, export/import buffer many sawps

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I have an ECC 6.0 system on AIX with 6 application servers. There seems to be a performance problem on the system, this issue is being noticed very well when people are trying to save a sale order for example, this operation takes about 10 minutes.

Sometimes we get short dumps TSV_TNEW_PAGE_ALLOC_FAILED or MEMORY_NO_MORE_PAGING but not very often.

I am not very good at studying the performance issues, but from what I could see is that there are may swaps on buffer export/import, program and generic key. Also the HitRatio is 88% at buffer export/import, which I think is pretty low.

I know that the maximum value accepted of swaps per day is 10000, is that right?

Can you please advice me what needs to be done in order for these swaps to decrese and hit ratio to increase? And also what else I should do in order to analyse and root cause and the bad performance of the system?

Many thannks,

manoliv

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

sappfpar determines the minimum and maximum (worst-case) swap space requirements of an R/3 application server. It also checks on shared memory requirements and that the em/initial_size_MB and abap/heap_area_total parameters are correctly set with the following procedure:

/usr/sap/<SYSTEMNAME>/SYS/exe/run/sappfpar check pf=/usr/sap/<SYSTMENAME>/SYS/profile/<Profile name>

At the end of the list, the program reports the minimum swap space, maximum heap space, and worst case swap space requirements:

Additional Swap Space Requirements :

You will probably need to increase the size of the swap space in hosts in which R/3 application servers run.

As a rule of thumb, swap space should equal

3 x Size of Main Storage or at least 1 GB, whichever is larger.

SAP recommends a swap space of 2-3 GB for optimal performance.