cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using two facts of two different star schemas and conformed dimensions

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I've been working as developer and database designer for years and I'm new to Business Objects. Some people says you can not use two facts of two different star schemas in the same query because of conformed dimensions and loop problems in BO.

For example I have a CUSTOMER_SALE_fACT table containing customer_id and date_id as FK, and some other business metrics about sales. And there is another fact table CUSTOMER_CAMPAIGN_FACT which also contains customer_id and date_id as FK, and some other business metrics about customer campaigns. SO I have two stars like below:

DIM_TIME -- SALE_FACT -- DIM_CUSTOMER

DIM_TIME -- CAMPAIGN_FACT -- DIM_CUSTOMER

Business metrics are loaded into fact tables and facts can be used together along conformed dimensions . This is one of the fundamentals of the dimensional modeling. Is it really impossible to use SALE_FACT and CAMPAIGN_FACT together? If the answer is No, what is the solution?

Saying "you cannot do that because of loops" is very interesting.

Thank you..

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

It depends on what you mean by "use together" to be honest.

Yes, you can place both facts and their associated dimension tables in the same universe, create the joins, and resolve the loops with contexts. That's a standard design process and has been supported in Designer for, well, forever.

But you cannot use the two facts in the same SQL statement, because that would generate invalid results. That's true no matter what the platform is. Business Objects does not fix that issue because it's a SQL issue, not a platform issue.

Former Member
0 Kudos

I mean using two facts in the same sql statement.