cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SUP Mobile Workflow using Phonegap

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the SUP world and I've had some success with porting an app that calls a ICF service (wrapped in a BSP) to multiple platforms using phonegap.

I'd like to add SUP in the mix and develop a Mobile Workflow app (hybrid) but use phonegap instead. Not having researched it very well, but I believe that phonegap would be a better alternative than SUP's hybrid web container.

I understand that SUP can expose objects, but I like not to include any client side code and simply use phonegap as a replacement.

In other words, what development workflow would enable me to generate a generic middleware layer with SUP (mbo, OData, rfcs...) such that I may use phonegap as my web container?

Is this possible? And would simply using AJAX calls work to interact with SUP, like so:

$.ajax({

type: "GET",

url: urlString,

data: "",

dataType: "json",

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

david_brandow
Contributor
0 Kudos

Obviously I'm biased, but I believe the hybrid web container provides a number of benefits over a generic hybrid applications, including, but not limited to:

- Automatic provisioning of applications

- Encryption of data in the client-side database, something HTML5 doesn't provide

- Encryption of the contents of the web application itself (JS, HTML, CSS)

- Push notification support

- Support for the occasionally disconnected use case, e.g. pushing messages onto a device-side queue while offline which silenty sends said messages as soon as the device comes online again

- Support for generating applications that work on all major platforms without having to go through the painful process yourself of figuring out what works on which platform and how

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi David,

Thanks for the reply.