cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

equipment and serial number

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi gurus

I'm new to CS module. Just a little confused between serial numbers and equipment. First of all Please explain what is an equipment in SAP and its usage. And its relation with serial numbers.

Thanks in Advance

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

thank you

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I think you are not aware of the Forum for CS/PM i.e."EAM" Forum.

Please ref. to many forum posts.

However you can make a note that An equipment is a basic phisical object of a material at given Functional location.

Even an equipment may be a component/object of a assembled material. For exaple a Motor in a big Generator. or Hard disk of a desk top computer.

The serial Number gives a unique identity to the Equipment once it is assigned to it

Keeping track of an Equipment in Service order processing in CS is very much controlled with the usage of Serial No.s

Further please explore in SAP IMG under the menu of Plant maintenance and Customer Service

Best regards

DSR

Edited by: D.Srinivasa Rao on Dec 6, 2011 12:01 PM

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for replies. Just one confusion that when equipment number is itself unique then how exactly the serial number gives more control over it. Why not equipment number itself used in place of serial numbers.Please give some examples.

Thanks

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I think the following link would give better information in this regards

http://www.sap-img.com/materials/inventory-serial-number-management.htm

Regards

DSR

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,