cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MDM Question...

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm a newbie to the MDM and I've a question on it.

As per my understanding, MDM maintains the Master Data at one central repository instead of having them at different places.

Lets say I've three systems SAP and Siebel and one legacy system. And the some master data is in SAP and some in Siebel and some in legacy system.

So, If we have MDM, we would combine all these master data from 3 systems and put that in one place. My question is, even after putting the data in MDM, still are we gonna have master data in those applications? or We dont maintain the master data in those systems anymore?

If its going to be only in MDM, then for each transaction in SAP or siebel or legacy system, it has to get the Master data from MDM before creating transactional data. Is it not a network overhead and doesnt it slowdown creating the transactions?

If its also going to be in the systems even after MDM implementation then what advantage we get from using MDM?

Any thoughts and/or real time experiences?

Thanks,

Angela

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Angela ,

Juan has explained the 3 scenario's very well . I will try to answer in simple way with recommended scenario ( central master data management) to clarify your questions .

Q - even after putting the data in MDM, still are we gonna have master data in those applications? or We dont maintain the master data in those systems anymore?

Ans - Yes , all 2 systems will have master data but will not maintain it . master data will be maintained centrally in MDM and send to these 3 systems as master data is required to perform certain things in these 3 systems .