cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crystal report: How to concatenate the string whilereadingrecords?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have description field in the database and I need to concatenate the value of the filed into one line. How to do that? I tried as below

Stringvar strtitle="";

whilereadingrecords;

if Mid({OrderDtl.PartNum},1,2)="T3" Then

strtitle & "T3- Background Music,"

Else if Mid({OrderDtl.PartNum},1,2)="T6" then

strtitle & "T6- Dance"

This is not working and showing only last value instead of concatenated string. I am very new to Crystal report and i am using Crystal report 2008

Thanks,

Raj

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

Try this

In one formula you'd have this -

Global Stringvar strtitle="";

whilereadingrecords;

strtitle & "T6- Dance"

Place this formula in the detail section and surpress it

Create another formula and have this

WhileReadingRecords;

Global StringVar StrTitle;

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply.

I need this formula to put in the Report footer and cannot put it in the detail section. Even If I use this in the details section and set the suppress for duplicates, it prints one by one; NOT in one single line. I need all the values concatenated into one single line.

abhilash_kumar
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Raj,

I guess you're trying to concatenate the descriptions so that they appear on a single line, perhaps, on the report footer?

Try this formula:

whilereadingrecords;
stringvar strtitle;
strtitle := strtitle + ">" + {description_field_from_database}

The ">" sign is to separate the records from each other; you may choose to remove this from the formula or use another separator.

Place the above formula in the details section and suppress the section.

Create this formula to display the result and place it in the Report Footer section:

evaluateafter(@Name_of_the_above_formula);
stringvar strtitle;

Let me know how this goes!