cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting data from Production to Development in a R/3 System

Former Member
0 Kudos

Good Morning,

I have a landscape where i have a Productive and a Development system (SAP R/3 Enterprise Release 4.70 SR1 1.10 with MaxDB 7.5 running on a HP-UX 11.23) and i was asked to copy the data and customizing (not user master data) from Production to Development. Both systems have 7 clients (6 for each country and one for Human Resources) and i need to copy the productive data to the development data (the Productive data can overwrite the Development data).

This is my first time doing this, and since i have a short deadline to do it, i need all the help i can get...

I'm not sure if i should use SCC8 or SCC9 in order to create a transport request for each client copy.

I've checked the OS space in sapdata and transport directories, i've also checked the database space and i need to change MAXDATAVOLUMES size and also create more volumes.

Now that i've done that, i need to know what to do next... Does anyone knows where i can find a procedure or documentation on this? Some kind of step by step guide?

About the Export Profiles, which default profile should i choose in order to copy

All client specific data, customizing AND NOT user master data?

Can i do any kind of test run before the export in order to understand the space i'm going to need in transport directory for example?

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,

Pedro Gaspar

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I'm not sure if i should use SCC8 or SCC9 in order to create a transport request for each client copy'

SCC8 is exporting the client - it will create a client transport which can be imported into the target client

SCC9 is the remote client copy - without transport - it directly copies the source client to the target, across the systems.