cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What will compliment HANA in the future...

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm in a little dilemma. My team was going for training and get on projects for HANA. But it seems that has been postponed for alteast a year. It was disappointing to hear this.

I'm a BI developer, working with basic ETL, Infocubes, DSO, etc. (only 1 year experience, was ABAP developer before)

I do have somewhat of a flexibility to learn something new (I'm still new to BI, so I have that option).

I want to learn something that will compliment HANA when I get involved in it in the future. I know HANA will be replacing many things in BI. There aren't that many options (BusinessObjects, BWA, BEX, stick with BI (ETL/DSO/InfoCubes/etc.).

What would be the best application/product to learn in BI now that will definitely help/compliment when learning HANA in the future? (which will also improve my skill set and value as a consultant also)

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Divya and Lars.

I used to be an ABAP programmer and did alot of reporting so I'm hoping BO won't be that difficult to grasp.

But within BO, there are so many different applications/tools:

1) Crystal Reports...So I'm assuming learning BO consists of learning Crystal Reports. (they are the same thing..?)

2) Web Intelligence

3) DeskI

4) Xcelsius

5) Universe Designer

6) Enterprise Information Management (EIM)

7) Enterprise Performance Management (EPM)

😎 InfoView web portal

9) On-demand BI software

I'm little overwhelmed with this. Which is the most popular and in demand? And which is most complimentary to HANA?

Sorry again if my questions seem to basic, but I need to make a career decision on what to learn that'll be in demand around the globe.

Vitaliy-R
Developer Advocate
Developer Advocate
0 Kudos