Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why BO Data services not SAP BI/BW

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

I am new to BO DataServices

We have the sap BI/BW as a greate ETL and reporting tool but why we use this BO DataServices.

In both BI/BW and BO Data Services we can integrate data from SAP and Non-SAP data source then, why and where we use DataServices?

please give me some examples plz.

can any one guide me.

Thanks Bapin

Edited by: Bapin Tripathy on Sep 7, 2011 9:26 AM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi bapin

Both BODS and BW/BI are ETL tools

SAP has acquired BUSINESS OBJECTS (I.e BODI and later it was changed to BODS by adding some features)

BO Is reporting tool

DS Is the ETL TOOL

Both are have there significance .Regarding the comparison between SAP BW and BODS both are ETL Tool but interms of usage and execution SAP BW is little complex Where as in BODS the ETL process is simple,And also the processing time is also less

hope this might be precise

thanks

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

The main reason behind using Data services is because you can transfer data from any source to any target. You simply need to create different data store in Data services and load your data.

But in case of BI/BW you can not push data from BI to any other external system, external applications will need there own connector to pull data from BI.

Regards,

Durgesh.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Bapin.

What is your source data ?

What is your reporting tool - for end users ?

And what exactly you want to see in reports ?

Which you feel is not already there ?

Regards

indu

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Indu

I have no problem working with data services.

My Doubt is not related to my project.

What are the draw backs are there in BI/BW so we go for data services?

It is a general question.

as i cant get it any where so i ask this.

Thanks

Bapin

Former Member
0 Kudos

In my opinion. It is a choice.