cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Table Reorg - check size of tables

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello masters,

I am pretty new in Oracle, and I would like to make online reorg of tables.

My questions would be:

How can I check in Oracle a table size before and after reorg ?

I would be interested in the table size in mb, index size.

I would like to start the reorg, I have the tables, but I just need to check before and after to see how much space I gained.

Thanks in advance,

Peace.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member524429
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

How can I check in Oracle a table size before and after reorg ?

You can get it under DB02old/DB02 -> Detailed Analysis. It will give you the Size of Table + Index in KB.

I would like to start the reorg, I have the tables, but I just need to check before and after to see how much space I gained.

I would suggest you to refer this useful [SAP Note 541538 - FAQ: Reorganization|https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/541538] && [Note 646681 - Reorganizing tables with BRSPACE|https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/646681] to get all the required details. Refer these SAP notes line by line and understand each options. During Table Reorganization you will have to consider sufficient space of oraarch location, sufficient space in responsible Tablespace(s).

Also, You can refer this [SAP Note 821687 - FAQ: Space utilization and fragmentation in Oracle|https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/821687] to get the information on wasted Space Table/Index wise which is occurred due the Fragmentation in Table/Index. I would record such information before and after Table reorg.

I hope the above information will be helpful.

Regards,

Bhavik G. Shroff

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Bhavik,

Thanks for the very helpful reply:

1. DB02 - I can check tables there. Perfect.

2. I checked the space on oraarch and I see there is enough.

3. The notes are really useful too,