cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Monitoring question

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear experts and gurus,

I am rather new at solman. I was tasked to create file monitoring in Solman. Here is my question :

File Monitoring :

1) Monitoring Creation time of file :

Background : I am moniitoring a file created for an outbound interface. A file will be created in the /out folder for a few minutes and then automatically transfer to the /archive folder. I am setting up a monitoring process to see whether the file has been delayed.

Monitoring at /out folder : Problem is the file only exist for a few minutes in the /out folder . I have set up a process to monitor it every 5 minutes but I think the gap is still too big . So it always report as a red alert although a file has arrived and been transferred.

Monitoring at /archive folder : Problem is, in the archive folder , there are already lots of files in the folder with similar file name but with an extension of the timestamp ( eg. fileServer.txt_20110810220045 ) . I do not think Solman has the functionality to automatically detect delta files ( new files ). So everytime solman goes to read the /archive folder , it did not raise any alert since it is reading old files ( hence, no delay ) . The filtering criteria in Solman is also not flexible/dynamic enough for me to differentiate new incoming files. ( cant put a dynamic variant to only look for file name with new dates )

Is there any workaround to achieve file monitoring for the above scenario ?

Or am I doing the wrong approach ?

i do not have monitoring set up at the other box .

Thanks everyone!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear lalachai

As the file is existing shorter than 5 minute in the /out folder we have no possibility to monitor there.

As of now there is also not possible to configure the selection of file name with dynamic date in it.