Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BAdI Implementation, Actions questions

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi there,

I'm currently new to New Enhancement Framework and looking at how BADI fits into this picture. I have understood of the following when we need to enhance standard SAP using BAdI:-

1) SE18, create Enhancement Spots

2) Assign BAdI definition to Enhancement Spots

3) Create Interface, Filter, etc

4) SE19, create BAdI implementations

5) Create implementing class, add methods (here is where the customised logic goes).

I have understood until there, however I have a few questions: -

1) Where do we insert the codes to "call" these BAdIs? Is there specific places in the source code that we need to modify, just like user exits?

2) What are Actions in the enhancement context?

3) "BAdIs called via an Action", what does this mean?

4) Implementations of BAdI EXEC_METHODCALL_PFF. What does this mean?

Thanks in advance for this.

Will reward points for anything helpful!

Regards,

Jared

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

uwe_schieferstein
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Jared

BAdIs are pre-defined (by SAP) customer-exits in the standard coding. So you cannot decide where the BAdI is called.

At these pre-defined sites the SAP coding checks if there is an <b>active</b> implementation of the BAdI available. Implementation means there is an ABAP class that implements the interface. The coding is in the class methods and not in the interface because we cannot put coding into interfaces.

Active means you have implemented the class and activated the BAdI implemenation in transaction SE19 (you see the status of the implementation next to the implementation name).