cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flash Islands Tutorial I - Confusion with Flex/Flash Builder Versions

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Guys,

i am new to the Adobe Flex/Flash Islands technology and tried to implement Tutorial I by Thomas Jung. Unfortunately i am confused by the various different versions for flex and the corresponding IDE's.

As far as i understood SAP at the moment only supports Flex versions up to version 3.3 for NetWeaver 7 EHP1. Furtheron the Adobe Charting Components (used in the Tutorial) seem to be part of the Flex Builder Professional Version only.

So i went to the Adobe Website and looked into the products and download areas. All i found was Flash Builder 4.5 Premium and the various Adobe and Open Source Flex SDK versions. I am using Flash Builder 4.5 as a trial right now. Unfortunately the Charting Components are not included.

So the question i have is whether the Charting Components (e.g. <mx:BarChart /> )are included in the non Trial version of Flash Builder 4.5 Premium or whether there is any possibility to get them as an Add-On. Or do i have to use Flex Builder 3 Professional (i found no information about this on the Adobe Website)?

Additional Hint:

I found out that when i compile the poject with Flex SDK vesion 3.6 or higher, the compiler knows the <mx:BarChart /> tag. Also in that case the view designer is working. However FlashIslands is only supported up to Flex SDK 3.3. But when i choose 3.3 the <mx:BarChart /> tag and some other related tags are unknown.

This is a really anoying issue.

Best Regards,

Dirk

Edited by: Dirk Jäckel on Jul 19, 2011 12:14 PM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

frank_stdle
Participant
0 Kudos

HI Dirk,

wtith Web Dynpro, you can only use Flex SDK version 3.3 and downwards. You can download the SDK here [http://opensource.adobe.com/wiki/display/flexsdk/DownloadFlex3]

Flash Builder ships with Flex SDK 4.5 which is not compatible with WDA flash islands.