cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Questions about the Goods Issue

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello guys,

I'm actually quite new to SAP. I'm still learning from the basics and I've been exposed to SAP only from reading, so if you can help answer these question, that'd be great:

1. This is how I understand the flow of sales:

Sales Orders are made according to sales requests. Delivery Order form is made to send the products to customers (Move inventory to in transit). When materials are accepted by the customers, we can post Goods Issue form to record this.

Is this correct?

2. Is Goods Issue a separate and different form from Delivery Order?

3. Is Goods Issue a separate and different form from Goods Receipt?

4. What if you send 10 of product A to customer XYZ, but they only accept 8 pcs and 2 pcs are returned to our warehouse.

What form do I use to record these 2 pcs that are returned ? Do I use Goods Issue form or Goods Receipt form?

thanks a lot!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Normal Sales Cycle based on the confirmed Sales Order we initiate Delivery Order.But the ownership of the goods has to be transferred from our account to customer account.

So We do PGI which is stated as Post Goods issue.Here the integration with MM and FI happens where our inventory stock as well as Value gets reduced from our books of account and updates In COGS account.COGS-Ie cost of Goods Sold.

Now if the customer returns the goods creates a return PO and sent the goods to our premises where we do a return order(Order type "RE) and after inspection takes the goods back to our return storage location so here again our inventory stock as well as value has to come in our owbnership for that we do PGRie Post Goods Receipt where COGS gets reduced and inventory adds on.

Regards,

Saju.S

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,