cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the Pros and Cons while joining tables at DF and Universe level

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am new to Data federator designer. I need help on the below.

Could you please let me know the Pros and Cons while joining the source tables in data federator

And While joining the DF target tables in universe designer.

Regards,

Gana

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

amitrathi239
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

You can design universe on top of Source or Target tables. but the recommendation is to use Target tables because you can merge data from multiple sources in one Target table and you can create more objects in the Target table.You can use DF functions only in target table objects not in source tables.

may be your requirement is meet with source tables right now but in future you need to add some more columns with some manipulation or merging data from two sources to the single table.

Create selected target tables based on the source tables which meet your universe ,reports requirement.

Thanks,

Amit

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank for your response.

I have done two scenarios.

1. I have created target tables based on source tables with one to one mapping and then join all target tables in universe.

Ex: Source tables: Infocube text tables, fact tables and 3rd party data base table

Target tables:Target tables are same as source tables

2. Created single target table with all objects of source tables and merged all sources tables data.

Ex: Source tables: Infocube text tables, fact tables and 3rd party data base table

Target table: Single table.

Can you tell me What are the Pros and Cons for the above two scenarios.

amitrathi239
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

1. I have created target tables based on source tables with one to one mapping and then join all target tables in universe.

Target tables:Target tables are same as source tables