cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple Oracle databases on Single host

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus,

I am new to SAP World. We are planning to install multiple SAP systems (ECC/BW/SRM/XI) on a single host with Oracle 11.2.0.2. As per SAP instguide, the Oracle RDBMS software should be owned by ora<SID>:dba. So we are planning to install the oracle software for the first dev system ERD under 'oraerd:dba' id. And the next will be under 'orabwd:dba' and the third under 'orasrd:dba'.

My questions is, instead of having multiple ORACLE_HOME's owned by individual id's, can I have one consolidated Oracle_Home owned by 'oracle:dba' which then controls all the oracle db's and its datafiles.

I know there is a SAP Note to do this for Oracle RAC (prd is being planned this way), but can we do the same for Single instance also.

Best Regards

Shiv

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

volker_borowski2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Note 105047 - Support for Oracle functions in the SAP environment

53. ORACLE_HOME sharing
Not permitted (that is, each database must have its own set of Oracle executables).
Reason: This avoids dependencies with patches and upgrades.

If you got a support answer contradicting to this note, you better file that one away on read only media,

to make sure you get support in case of trouble.

Volker

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Orkun,

I am sorry, I think you misunderstood me. The prod RAC will have 3 physical nodes, but there will be only one RDBMS software on this cluster (installed on shared/cluster filesystem) which will support multiple Oracle RAC db's.

-Shiv

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Shiv,

I understand the situation, clearly. No problem with it. At this stage, you will not be able to have one Oracle home on a single host, without RAC.

Best regards,

Orkun Gedik

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Orkun,