cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking to a document on an external server...

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts... I am new to the sdn community, so before lambasting me for not searching, here is my predictament. I have created a DIR using CV01n with a new Document Type I have defined. I am able to upload the original document either via the create button or via the "open original" button, where I can easily see all the drives that my computer is linked to. When I try to "check in" a document, I see the options as defined from SPRO in the "Settings for Storage Systems" section, but again what I am trying to define is an "external Server addy" so the documents are not on the SAP server. I defined a "Filesystem" as storage category, but am not sure of the options I should use for "Maintaining the Storage System" since based on the selection of "Storage Type" whether HTTP content server or Structure Storage System, or Logical repository decides how the rest of your screen looks for further selection. Bottom line is can somebody point me to the best selections for an external document storage? I did not select "use Kpro" for this document type. Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Pradeep,

Yes my users are over a 10 state area geographically, with u201Cpotentialu201D handheld access to the documents that would be attached to functional locations and equipments using the CV0*N access. They would have no need to u201Ccheckout/checkinu201D documents in the field, but would need view access or print access from their field device via a work order wrote against the equipment or F.L. to which the documents would be attached. I envision a separate small group of users that would actually u201Cmanageu201D the documents themselves such as u201Ccheck out/update/check back inu201D to the separate server location where the file(s) are located.