Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing methods

Former Member
0 Kudos

hello all,

I am relatively new to ABAP and was wondering if one of you could give me a hand with this.

I am asked to reset a certain Z methods to standard class. Is it possible to delete this Z method completely? I tried via se80/se24 but it gives the message "You cannot perform this action in modification mode ".

thanks for any help.

Edited by: abaplerner on Jun 13, 2011 9:26 PM

10 REPLIES 10

Sandra_Rossi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

by "reset", do you mean delete? I think this message is because you tried to maintain a standard class, in which custom methods have been added through the enhancement framework. If yes, then you must click menu Class -> Enhance, and then you'll be able to operate on the custom methods (and maybe you'll have to select the corresponding enhancement option).

BR

Sandra

0 Kudos

Thank you Sandra.

Yes, I am asked to delete the custom enhancements done to the methods (basically reset it to SAP's standard class). The standard CL_XX_XXX was copied to ZCL_XX_XXX and three methods were modified. The dump we are getting is pointing to ZCL_XX_XXX. If I delete the ZCL class, can I get the original program access the standard CL class instead of ZCL? In meantime, what I did was to manually comment out all the custom lines in the ZCL methods and make it same as CL. I am not sure if this is the correct way to do this.

I am not able to view any "enhance" option. I checked in Se24 and se80. Could you walk me through this?

Please advise what is the best way to RESET (remove all the custom changes and use standard SAP delievered class) the ZCL class to CL...

Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos