cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimension Property Comparison

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts

I am new to BPC and I am trying to do a comparison using dimension property, but this is performance intensive. Was wondering if there is a work around.

*XDIM_MEMBERSET COMPANY = 207

*XDIM_MEMBERSET DATASRC = %DATASRC_SET%

*XDIM_MEMBERSET RPTCURRENCY = LC

*XDIM_MEMBERSET CATEGORY = %CATEGORY_SET%

*XDIM_MEMBERSET TIME = %TIME_SET%

*XDIM_MEMBERSET ACCOUNTF = %ACCOUNTF_SET%

*SELECT(%DIM_CENTER%,"[ID]",CENTER,"[PROFIT_COST]='C' AND [REL_PC]<>''")

*SELECT(%DIM_CENTER_PC%,"[REL_PC]",CENTER,"[PROFIT_COST]='C' AND [REL_PC]<>''")

*XDIM_MEMBERSET CENTER = %DIM_CENTER%

*WHEN DATASRC

*IS "CPUNIT_DRV"

*FOR %LC2% = %DIM_CENTER_PC%

*WHEN CENTER.REL_PC

*IS %LC2%

*REC(EXPRESSION=( %VALUE% * ([ACCOUNTF].[UNITS],[CENTER].[%LC2%],[DATASRC].[TOTDATASRC])),DATASRC=TEST)

*ENDWHEN

*NEXT

*ENDWHEN

*COMMIT

Thanks

Nikil

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Nikil,

The performance depends on how many members are passing the loop there. Another thing is if you have complex dimension formula, it usually cause a big difference in performance compare to simple +-x/ formulas only. There are lot of factors that may be contributing to poor performance so the first step is to identify first if the logic below or other factors is causing the issue. Try to run the logic below without running default formulas, running it on single member, many members, running it after dimension formulas(if there's any) are removed so you can pinpoint the real cause of intensive performance.

Hope this helps,

Marvin

Former Member
0 Kudos

From my analysis the performance issue is because of the FOR loop. For every record processed the FOR loop executes 500 times.

Is there a way to call dimension property in an expression. If I could this then it could solve my problem.

I tried a few things - but none of them seem to work.