Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to avoid embedded loops?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am not an expert and dealing with a performance issue. When a debugged the code I figured that a embedded loop was causing the performance issue and I am looking for analternative way to write that piece of the code.

The code is:

loop at SOURCE_PACKAGE assigning <source_fields>.

loop at i_t_d032 into i_l_d032 where

/bic/zfield1 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield1 and

/bic/zfield2 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield2 and

/bic/zfield3 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield3 and

/bic/zfield4 <= <source_fields>-/bic/zfield4 .

delete SOURCE_PACKAGE.

exit.

endloop.

endloop.

FYI - I_t_d032 has 30 million records.

I apprciate your help.

10 REPLIES 10

former_member213275
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

First check that i_t_d032 is fetched only once for entire LUW ( per one instance) i.e. the same select query to fill this internal table i_t_d032 shouldnt be repeated for every data package -source package for a particuklar load.

Second Declare i_t_d032 type sorted table with non unique key as /bic/zfield1 /bic/zfield2 /bic/zfield3 /bic/zfield4.

Then instead of loop you use read table with table key. This might improve 30 % of time taken usually without sorted table.

loop at SOURCE_PACKAGE assigning <source_fields>.

Read table i_t_d032 into i_l_d032 with table key /bic/zfield1 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield1

/bic/zfield2 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield2

/bic/zfield3 = <source_fields>-/bic/zfield3

If sy-subrc eq 0.

delete SOURCE_PACKAGE.

endif.

endloop.

Srikanth.

0 Kudos

Thanks for your suggestion. To answer your question I am including the select statement tht fills he itab. And yes it looks like every package is filling the itab.

IF SOURCE_PACKAGE IS NOT INITIAL.