cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copying Data from One AppSet to Another AppSet

Former Member
0 Kudos

I would like to copy data from one AppSet to another AppSet. That is, copy data from one Application to another Application, which are seating in two different AppSets. Would like to set it up as a Data Manager Package so that a user can run both the export (from source AppSet) and import (to destination AppSet) in a single package run.

I am new to BPC and would like to seek your advice on this topic. Please give me suggestions on the best approach.

Here is a preliminary thought. Start with the u201CImport SQLu201D example package supplied with BPC. Direct the SQL statement to read from the FACT, FAC2 and WB tables from the source AppSet. Then use the import process supplied with this package to import to the destination AppSet.

What do you think about this approach? Anything I should watch out for, e.g. security?

We are in the process of implementing BPC 7.5, Microsoft version.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

You can try doing the step which you have thought upon.

Alternatively, you can run the export DM package in the source application from the source appset. This will export the data into a flat file. Then login to the destination app of the destination appset and run the import package to load the flat file.

Hope this helps.

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you nilanjan, Madis and YH Seo for your comments and suggestions.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Raymond Chu,

Sounds like you are working for Consolidation AND Planning.