cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Debug in NWDS

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to SAP EP. But as I am from Java technology, I have fair bit of idea about Eclipse IDE tool and in that way understand NWDS also to some extent as both are same in most aspects.

But I do not know how to DEBUG a java application in NWDS.

Scenario :

We have a Java application. Code of this java application is in NWDI. This is a application built on Servlets and JSPs. There is no framework used (Like struts or Spring). We have 3 Portal environments here, Dev, QA and Production.

Now, Can some one tell me, how I can debug the java application which I have in portal (Like by putting break points in the code and pressing F6 and F7 which we do in Eclipse).

In my previous project, where I was working on Java technology with Eclipse as IDE tool,... I had a local server running on my machine, which I configured with Eclipse. So when I put put break points in my code, build it and deploy on to the server and start running the aplication,...my application stops at the point where I put break point. From here on I used F6 and F7 keys to see the application flow.

But here in SAP portal.....I do not have any local environment. Ofcourse, we do have a environment called sandbox...but it actually is not a local copy....it is just like dev or QA environment which he people use to learn SAP Portal, basically to play around.

Please llet me know how I can debug my java application in this scenario. If it is not possible to debug in this scenario..then please let me know the modifications required in the setup, which would enable be to go ahead with java application debugging.

Hope my question is clear.....if not, let me know.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (6)

Answers (6)

ErvinSzolke
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hello sun197895,

did you manage to resolve the debugging issue?