Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP R/3 Project for school

Former Member
0 Kudos

I really didn't know where to put this, but here goes:

Hi people,

I'm completely new to SAP and I chose to work with it for a school project.

My university supplies the SAP software, the rest is up to me.

Now, I have been googling and googling but I found that there is very little information on SAP.

For my project I have to install SAP R/3 v4.6 and get it working, however since I never worked with SAP and I can't find much on it I'm in a bit of trouble.

I was wondering if either you know where I can find some good tutorials or articles on how to install and configure SAP or maybe you could get me going.

I have access to 2 computers (I could get more if needed) and the software supplied by my university.

If I start to install the GateWay through GWSETUP, I can pick 2 files GWINST.R3S and GATEWAY.R3S. However, on both occasions I get errors (I did install IMMC but when I tried to install the Active Directory Service Interfaces I got the error: Incorrect INF file syntax in section 'CheckForPrevVer).

The errors I get with GWINST are:

The process SAPCAR puts out:

SAPCAR: no archives specified for extracting (error 29). Er zijn
    geen bestanden meer.

ERROR 2006-08-02 19:00:53 CDINSTEXTRACTSAPMMCMSC_NT_IND InstallationDo:0
    Phase failed.

ERROR 2006-08-02 19:00:53 InstController Action:0
    Step CDINSTEXTRACTSAPMMCMSC_NT_IND could not be performed.

ERROR 2006-08-02 19:00:53 Main :0
    Installation failed.

ERROR 2006-08-02 19:00:53 Main :0
    Installation aborted. 

and with the GATEWAY.R3S I get:

INFO 2006-08-02 18:53:42 PRESENTATIONCD_NT_IND InternalColdKeyCheck:0
    The CD PRESENT will not be copied.

ERROR 2006-08-02 18:53:54 R3PISERVICEMANAGER_NT_IND SubstituteVariables:0
    Could not load the SAP MMC Snapin DLL !
    Did you install the SAP MMC Snapin using the program R3DLLINS.EXE
    from the kernel CD?