cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

db design tool for databasestudio

Former Member
0 Kudos

Are there tools/plugins for doing db design in databasestudio?

Regards,

IL

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

In general you can use any Eclipse-Plugin for that.

But do you actually know the graphical table/view/join editors?

For basic stuff these should be sufficient; if you really want to do serious logical database design, then you'll be better off with a regular tool for that.

regards,

Lars

Former Member
0 Kudos

I didn't know about the editors. Perhaps they would be enough to begin with. How do I start them?

I'm new to DBStudio and was looking in the docu for data modeling hints but didn't find anything useful.

By regular tool, do you mean something like Oracle's Data Modeler?

Regards,

IL

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

>

> I didn't know about the editors. Perhaps they would be enough to begin with. How do I start them?

> I'm new to DBStudio and was looking in the docu for data modeling hints but didn't find anything useful.

> By regular tool, do you mean something like Oracle's Data Modeler?

>

> Regards,

> IL

I meant any ERD tool. There are many out there; I'm sure google will be your friend with this as well.

As a matter of fact the last ERD tool I used myself happened to be Oracle Designer 6... (that makes me appear quite old I think...)

For DB Studio, trying out the context menus (right-mouse-button) on every level in the object tree on the left screen side is a very good way to find out the available functions.

Also there's the MaxDB documentation page [http://maxdb.sap.com/training/] where you can find e.g. this [Using SAP MaxDB Database Studio (in SAP and Non-SAP Environments)|http://maxdb.sap.com/training/administration_7.6/MaxDB-Admin-DBStudio-LCM263.pdf].

It's not a complete documentation but maybe a good starting point.

regards,

Lars