cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Workflow for Document Approval

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to SolMan and is trying to figure out how to implement a workflow for document approval. A similar question has probably been posted in the past, but I can't find a definite solution, only some hints.

Basically, what we're trying to achieve is the following:

When a document is uploaded using SOLAR02, and the creator of the document changes the status to ready for sign-off, we would like to trigger a workflow which will send an email to a couple of persons who are responsible to approve the document. We already implement the digital signature, we just want to add an automatic email notification to be sent to the approvers.

Based on my research, it seems that this is not supported by SolMan and hence we have to do a custom development.

There's an object key called SOLMANDOC and we should raise an event (something like SIGNATURE_PROCESS_START) to send an email notification to the approvers. Can somebody confirm whether my understanding is right ? Does anybody know the name of the BADI that we can modify to achieve our goal ?

FYI, we're using SolMan Rel 7.01 SP 19.

Thanks in advance

Lara

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

philip_kisloff
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Lara,

I've also seen a lot of comments suggesting the only way to trigger a workflow event is by using an enhancement point. Actually, they are wrong, the event SOLMANDOC SIGNATURE_PROCESS_START is triggered automatically once configuration is completed.

After Signature Strategy Configuration, you have to configure the status schema, and then it will work.

IMG path is Cross-scenario settings > Document management > Status for documents > Define Document Status schemes.