Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calculating Reorder Point values in DP Book with Macrobuilder

bill_ghere
Discoverer
0 Kudos

All,

I am new to building DP Books but I am comfortable with most of the process. Currently I am struggling with writing macros that are more complex than a single level.

What I am trying to do build a DP book that calculates Reorder Point values for all materials, and alerts that let's the planner know whether or not it is a viable candidate to utilize ROP. I am struggling with the calculation and building the macros needed, specifically getting the Z Value (Inverse Normal Distribution) and the Lead Time Demand.

Issue with the Z Value is that APO does not have a function for this (like MS Excel's 'InvsNorms'). We have found an approximation calculation that should be close enough, but it is fairly complex and is a bit daunting.

[Link to Inverse Norm approximation|http://home.online.no/~pjacklam/notes/invnorm/]

Issue with the Lead Time Demand is that I don't know how to build the Macro correctly. I have one built but it has some structural issues and the error messages are difficult at best to intemperate, in order to know how to resolve. What I planned on doing was to round the lead time of the component divided by 28 days to get and integer representing the number or periods to grab from the statisical forecast generated in the DP book. I know what I want to do but I'm just not sure how to put it together.

I'm a little bit suprized that a ROP calculation is not included as a function withing APO somewhere, I'd like some insight on any of the above, especially if I can simplify my design

Thanks!

Bill

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

bill_ghere
Discoverer
0 Kudos