cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RENAMING THE SAPSID and DBSID

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi experts,

I am a fresh BASIS professional and this is my recent issue. Please be patient in order to read this long post and please post your valuable feedbacks.

SCENARIO:

I want to rename both SAPSID and DBSID.

SYSTEM PARTICULARS:

DB: Oracle 10.2.0.1

SAP: ECC 6.0 SR2 ABAP+JAVA

SAPSID and DBSID (old): SEZ

SAPSID and DBSID (new): SDF

THE PROCESS:

After an extensive research I have come up with the process to do that. Please take a look below:

1. RENAMING THE DBSID

u2022Mount the database after a clean shutdown

u2022Invoke the DBNEWID utility (nid) specifying the new DBNAME from the command line using a user with SYSDBA privilege:

nid TARGET=sys/password@SEZ DBNAME=SDF

u2022Use Y in the change database ID prompt as shown below:

Change database ID and database name SEZ to SDF? (Y/[N]) => Y

u2022Shutdown the database.

u2022Modify the DB_NAME parameter in the initialization parameter file. The startup will result in an error but proceed anyway.

STARTUP MOUNT

ALTER SYSTEM SET DB_NAME=SDF SCOPE=SPFILE;

SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE

u2022Create a new password file:

orapwd file= D:\oracle\SEZ\102\database\pwdSDF.ora password=password entries=10

u2022Rename the SPFILE to match the new DBNAME.

u2022Recreate the service so the correct name and parameter file are used:

oradim -delete -sid SEZ

oradim -new -sid SEZ -intpwd password -startmode a -pfile D:\oracle\SEZ\102\database\spfileSDF.ora

u2022Alter the listener.ora and tnsnames.ora setting to match the new database name and restart the listener:

lsnrctl reload

u2022Open the database with RESETLOGS:

STARTUP MOUNT

ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS;

u2022Backup the database.

2. Then Uninstall the SAP system

3. From SAP INSTALLATION MASTER, use SYSTEM COPY option providing the SAPSID as SDF.

THE QUESTION:

Please check the above method and tell me if this will work or not?