cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Password Hook Configuration in IdM

0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

Currently I'm working on an IDM password hook implementation. I'm very new to this and need you expert advice on how to implement this scenario.The customer already have a CUA in the landscape and they are would also continue using it. They want IDM only to synchronize the ABAP password with that of windows AD using the password hook functionality of IDM.

I've installed the IDM runtime engine.MC and the dispatcher on a seperate machine. Now I've to install the password hook on AD and then create provisioning jobs from IC to synchronize the password to the connected ABAP systems

I've some specific qustions on this -

1 - The inital load from the CUA works fine but do I also need to read the passwords from CUA.

2 - How will the AD know where the IDM is located. Do I need to install runtine components on AD also.

3 - The pssword hook configuration will be done on the AD.

4 - Once this is complete, how do I create a job that picks up this changed password and updates the Identity Store

Any help on this would be highly appreciated.

Regards,

Amlan

Edited by: Amlan Dutta on Jan 21, 2011 9:15 AM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Amlan,

I've created a how to guide on my on, extending the existing guide, or make it more clearly. But my experiences are from the PasswordHook of IDM 7.0. In my opinion this tool hasn't changed deeply.

l hope, it will be helpful to you.

1. You have to Install the PasswordHook and the DSERT (Data Synchronisation Engine RunTime) on one of your DCs.

2. You have to check each configuration step within the regestry. For this please use the following regestry key (may be it differs from your setting):

My Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\controlset001\control\lsa\MxPwdHook