Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master role inherits everything to derived role. Can I change that?

d_laber
Explorer
0 Kudos

Dear Gurus,

I am new to SAP and very thankful for every help I can get. I hope you can understand my problem!

I have defined a master role where I did not fill out every authorization object (yellow triangle), because I have different authorities for every derived role. Now my Problem.

If I change sth. in my master role now. Everytime I generate it I have to re-define the particular authorities in my derived role. Is there any way to avoid that?

Can I somehow give authorities to derived roles which are not changed by the master role everytime?

Thank you very much for your help!

D.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

Those fields you are looking for are called Org. Levels.

If you hang on for a while, then someone called Shekar might turn up and show you a controvercial trick. Whether that is bad luck or good luck is debatable... but for sure an interesting flamewar will break out...

Generally I should also use the search if you suspect that you are not the first person to face a certain doubt.

Cheers,

Julius

17 REPLIES 17

koehntopp
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

That's the way it's supposed to work

Derived roles should usually only differ in organizational levels, not in other authorizations.

Frank.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Those fields you are looking for are called Org. Levels.

If you hang on for a while, then someone called Shekar might turn up and show you a controvercial trick. Whether that is bad luck or good luck is debatable... but for sure an interesting flamewar will break out...