cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is SAP version,SAP release,SAP enhancement pack & SAP support package?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to SAP and I would like to know what is SAP version, SAP release, SAP enhancement packs and SAP support packages?

Ans also if my release is 720 and file version is 7200.1.0.1050 then what does it mean?

How to identify suport package and enhancement packs from these numbers?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

RJ

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

nirmal_konchada
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

>

> Hi All,

>

> I am new to SAP and I would like to know what is SAP version, SAP release, SAP enhancement packs and SAP support packages?

>

> Ans also if my release is 720 and file version is 7200.1.0.1050 then what does it mean?

> How to identify suport package and enhancement packs from these numbers?

>

> Thanks in advance!

>

> Regards,

> RJ

1. SAP Version is the version of the Product like ERP 6.0, CRM 7.

2. SAP release is the release of the WAS i.e. 700, 710,

3. SAP EHP is nothing but the version of the application/WAS i.e 601, 602, 603, 710

4. SAP Support pack is the packs applied to the components. like SAP_BASIS version 604 with SP level 5.

Regards,

Nirmal.K

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hey thanks...but I am still confused between release and version.

Regards,

RJ

Former Member
0 Kudos

The confusion will never stop. Let me recommend you this blog for a start: [SAP product naming confusion|http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/weblogs?blog=/pub/wlg/22981] [original link is broken] [original link is broken] [original link is broken];

Cheers Michael

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

if you have SAP Version 720 then the support packages for your system are named like this ... SAPKE72015

Let me explain the filename format for you:

SAP | never changes | KE | component name for ex. HR | 720 | SAP Rel.Version | 15 | No. of support package