cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SET_ATTRIBUTE or GET_ATTRIBUTE should be use for a node or element????

amber_garg
Active Participant
0 Kudos

I am a newbie to dynpro. From whatever programs i have written till now i have observed that whenever we call functions like GET_ATTRIBUTES or SET_ATTRIBUTES in the following way

1) X -> GET_ATTRIBUTE

2) CALL METHOD X->SET_ATTRIBUTE

Now in place of X , if i write the NODE variable name (of type IF_WD_CONTEXT_NODE) or ELEMENT TYPE( by using GET_ELEMENT for a node) it works for both of them.

So what is the difference between the two and which is better to use.I understand that node contains an element which refers to the attributes but in this example I am not able to figure out the difference

THANKS

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

sahai
Contributor
0 Kudos

hi amber,

take a scenario wher eyou have a screen having some input field now those input fields are binded to a node rite?......since they are the input field you must be expecting user to write or enter values in it rite?......so now based on the values he entered you have tto do some calculations .....so you will read that node and when you will read that node you will be using get_attributes.....

similarly at times we have to give some values to a node/attributes by ourselves in the code like if option 1 set node 2 as value = 100 ....for ex...here you will be using the set_attribute....

hope you got what i told ...if needed any further help inform.

thanks and regards,

sahai.s

amber_garg
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Thanks sahai for your answer

I know the difference between get_attribute and set_attribute. What my question was that these methods should be invoked by objects of NODE type or ELEMENT type since they work correctly with both

So i am basically asking the difference between calling these methods through a NODE object and ELEMENT object.

Whats the difference in them and which one is better to use